BEIA Annual Outstanding Contributor's Award

This award goes to a BEIA Member who has made a very real and significant contribution to New Zealand’s Business Events Industry.  Sponsored by David Hall, of David Hall & Associates AND Hunter's Wines.

David Hall has long been involved within the business events industry both in New Zealand and internationally. In 1976 he assumed the Chair of the ‘New Zealand Convention Association’ (NZCA) later to become known as CINZ and now BEIA, followed by being appointed as Executive Director of the Adelaide Convention Bureau in 1980. From 1992 to 1993 he was CEO of the Gold Coast Convention & Visitors Bureau following which he established David Hall Consultancy. 

Retaining a passion and strong interest for New Zealand as a destination, David Hall has maintained contact with BEIA. In addition to several speaker and panel presentations during the past decade at the Annual Conference, David Hall, with support from Jane Hunter of Hunter’s Wines, kindly sponsors the Annual Outstanding Contributor's Award.

2023 Award Winner: Hamish Saxton - Hawke's Bay Tourism

2022Award Winner: Heather Shaw - The Events Group
(Featuring her daughter Meredith Drucker receiving the prize on Heather's behalf)

2021 Award Winner: Maxine Wallis - Cordis Auckland

2019 Award Winner: Tracey Thomas - Conference Innovators

2018 Award Winner: Anna Hayward - Auckland Convention Bureau

2017 Award Winner: Jenny Simpson - Air New Zealand

2016 Award Winner: Russell Alexander - Hobbiton Movie Set

2015 Award Winner: Alison Smith - Millennium Hotels & Resorts

2014 Award Winner: Jan Tonkin - The Conference Company

2013 Award Winner: Gary Muir - Invercargill Licensing Trust

2012 Award Winner: William Goodfellow - ExploreNZ

2011 Award Winner: Tony Peek – Peek Exhibition

Photo: David Hall, Tony Peek – Peek Exhibition, Sarah McDermid – Hunters Wines

2010 Award Winner: Lynn Simmonds – Air New Zealand

2009 Award Winner: Stu & Trish Freeman – Meeting Newz